Since 1995 the international TSO comparison group is a group of electrical transmission system operators spanning Asia, Europe, South-Africa,  America. Its mission is to exchange information on their current and future operating practices for the purpose of benchmarking. An annual survey is undertaken to ascertain equivalent staffing requirements, best practices and/or performance measures in areas such as transmission system operations including generation scheduling and dispatching, electricity market operation, operations planning, settlements, information technology, training et cetera.

The results of the annual survey are an important basis for performance comparison and for improvement of operating practices. In some countries regulatory authorities would require this kind of information. Information is kept strictly confidential between members, but members are allowed to disclose agreed non attributable and market data for their own purpose.

Members of the Group discuss their experiences each year in one or two Workshops upon invitation of one of the participating companies. Membership of TSO is presently restricted to up to 30 companies/departments that qualify as an operator of a bulk transmission system. This presentation gives an overview of the valus of the membership.

2015/2016 project will start soon. Here you find the appropriate documents.

TSO is managed by a Steering Committee consisting of 6 elected members and supported by DNV GL Energy. Please contact project administration if you have any questions.

Members of 2013/2014 project




Contact Person

ESKOM South Africa www.eskom.co.za Bernard Magoro
Red Eléctrica de España* Spain www.ree.es Jaime Sanchiz Garrote
Landsnet Iceland www.landsnet.is Gudmundur Ingi Àsmundsson
Fingrid* Finland www.fingrid.com Timo Kaukonen
Amprion* Germany www.amprion.net Michael Rogge
Transpower NZ* New Zealand www.transpower.co.nz Kate Redgewell
Statnett SF Norway www.statnett.no Lars Voldhaug
PJM Interconnection** PA, USA www.pjm.com Albert Di Caprio
CLP Power* Hong Kong www.clpgroup.com.hk Stephen Kwok
Rede Eléctrica Nacional Portugal www.ren.pt Rui Pestana
Hydro Québec Canada www.hydroquebec.com Daniel Vézina
China Southern Power Grid China eng.csg.cn Jun Wu
Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd. India www.powergridindia.com SC Saxena
Energinet.dk Denmark www.energinet.dk Rasmus P. Andersen

* Steering committee member
** Steering committee chairman

The Group of International Comparison of Transmission System Operation Practice